3 Fairly Dumb Things

I need to put up a new post just to get the Chelsea Dagger rant off the top of my blog.  I think throwing a complete conniption fit about a goal song is perfectly appropriate for one day.  Two days is pushing it.  Three days is taking things too far.

So, here are some (fairly dumb) things for you:

1. On Saturday I thought my favorite pink scarf had been stolen from the coat rack at Left Bank.  I was pretty bummed about it mostly because I really liked that scarf, but also because I’ve always thought of Left Bank as one of those home-away-from-home places where nothing bad could ever happen to me or to any of my scarves.  But, these things happen, so I quietly mourned and tried to move forward in a post-pink-scarf world.

BUT THEN.

Last night I went to Left Bank and my scarf was hanging on the coat rack!  Three days later!  I KNOW!

The prevailing theory among my friends is that the scarf had probably been accidentally knocked off the coat rack, and then put back on the wrong hook.  My friend Richard speculated that maybe someone took my scarf by mistake and then returned it later- which would be a very awesome (and very Buffalo-y) thing to do.  These theories make sense, but I like to think that my scarf was “borrowed” by someone very fabulous, taken on grand adventures across the land, and then returned to the place where the temporary-scarf-thief knew I would definitely return- Left Bank.  I think my scarf looks a little more worldly, a LOT wiser, and maybe a wee bit more hung over then it did before I lost it on Saturday.  I hope it had fun out there.

2. You know what I think is interesting about attending hockey games?  You can’t hear a single word the people in front of you say, but you can hear EVERY word the people behind you say.   This was driven home at the preseason Flyers game a few days ago when Heather and I were taking turns talking like Ryan Miller after he had to defend against that 3-on-0 last year (“::angry glare::”  “I’ve never even SEEN a 3-on-0 before.”  “Not even in PEE WEE hockey.”  “I don’t even understand how something like that can happen.”  “I hate my teammates.”), and the guy sitting in front of us turned around and told us that 3-on-0s happen all the time in his beer league.   It’s funny how the acoustics of the arena mean you’re constantly eavesdropping and being eavesdropped on, but you’re not exactly in a good position to have a conversation with the people around you.

3. I am really truly psyched that real, meaningful hockey is almost here.

6 Responses to “3 Fairly Dumb Things”


  1. 1 Pookie October 6, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    I bet your scarf traveled the world these last three days!

    Also, the last year we had season tickets, Schnookie, Morgan and I sat in the very last row of the arena. It was fabulous for two reasons:

    1. There was a railing for putting your winter coat.
    2. There was never any stupid conversation wafting down from the row behind us! I’m telling you, that is 100% the way to go to a season’s worth of games. If you’re only going a few times a year, by all means, sit down low. But if you know you’re going to 41 Devils games? Make sure you’re where you can be comfortable and where you can talk a lot without distraction. ::nods sagely::

  2. 2 Grrrreg October 6, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I think I saw your scarf in Paris the other day. It looked like it was having lots of fun.

  3. 3 kitten October 6, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Ryan Miller can hear every word you say from anywhere in the arena. I’m just sayin’

  4. 4 Sharpie October 6, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Down Goes Brown did a NHL preview and for the Sabres his “bad” comment was how Miller isn’t good at 3-on-0s. The entire thing is hilarious.

  5. 5 Katebits October 6, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Pookie, about halfway through the year we realized that we can tuck our coats on the cursed gate…so that’s one thing our seats have going for them.

    I think I saw your scarf in Paris the other day. It looked like it was having lots of fun.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: Oh that makes me so happy. I know it’s always wanted to see the Eiffel Tower.

    Kitten, AHAHAHA! That’s funny because it’s scary.

    Sharpie, the thing is, Crunchy STOPPED that 3-on-0! (Of course, he was so rattled that he gave up a goal on the next shot. But still.)

  6. 6 Sam October 6, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    1- how wonderful that your scarf found its way back to you! I hope it had many lovely adventures. :)

    2. I agree completely with that. I always feel like a creeper, but I can’t help but listen in on what the folks behind me are saying.. and some games I really wish I couldn’t hear them! But I never know what’s going on in front of me..

    3. YES! :)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


