Pommerdoodle Appreciation Day!

First, press play on this video and let it set the mood as you read this post.

It’s Pommerdoodle Appreciation Day!

This song was on Jason Pominville’s Player Playlist last night. Someone asked him what songs he wanted played at the arena on game day, and he chose this.

I know. It’s out of control.

It’s amazing the teenage girls in attendance at the game last night survived this brush with such deadly cuddliness. Thank God this song is in French. If the girls had been able to understand the lyrics, there would have certainly been a epidemic of swooning from the balconies at HSBC.

Jason Pominville is adorabe, and I defy you to find a more pleasantly appealing guy in the NHL. I’m convinced that he sleeps on a bed of clouds, and that he writes his girlfriends beautiful love letters in crayon, and that when he’s sad the petals wilt off the stems of nearby flowers. He speaks in giggles. He always falls for practical jokes, but he never gets mad. He’s scared of thunder and vacuum cleaners.

The likeness is uncanny.

Today is Pommerdoodle Appreciation Day because in addition to being a great hockey player, he’s also totally bucking the brutish hockey player trend. Good boy, Pommerdoodle!

8 Responses to “Pommerdoodle Appreciation Day!”


  1. 1 Gambler November 29, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Aw, that song is so cute! I know it’s not on that play list, but I definitely heard “Lump” by The Presidents of the United States of America playing at HSBC last night. I’m going to go ahead and give Pommers credit for that, just because it amuses me.

    By the way, Kate, there was totally a labradoodle puppy at baggage claim when I flew into Buffalo for Thanksgiving! (At least it looked an awful lot like a labradoodle puppy, but I’m no dog expert. It could have been a labradoppelganger.) I was shocked! I almost yelled, “Pommerdoodle! Shouldn’t you be playing the Senators right now? Bad dog!” But then I realized my mistake.

  2. 2 Heather B. November 29, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    See, I totally believe that this song is the real Pommerdoodle while all that cheesy hip-hop is what he listens to when he wants to try and impress the boys. When the first rap song started playing last night I said to Mark, “No way Pommers really listens to rap. It’s too rough for him.” (Love the tilted photo.)

  3. 3 Schnookie November 30, 2007 at 1:45 am

    My appreciation for Pommerdoodle is soaring! I don’t want the petals of nearby flowers to droop — I hope my appreciation has the power to keep Pommers happy! (He is so afraid of thunder and vacuum cleaners. That’s how Haines and Kibblehouse manage to foil him every time he’s about to solve a mystery, and then Crunchy has to step in and save the day. Which explains why Crunchy’s the boss and Pommerdoodle’s the detective assistant.)

    Oh, and Gambler — “labradoppelganger”? Well played!

  4. 4 jonhoepfinger November 30, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Instead of writing love letters with Crayons he should start putting the puck in the net. The population of Pominville is starting to stagnate.

  5. 5 Katebits November 30, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Oh, Jon.

    The good people of Pominville have recently celebrated two blessed “births” in as many games! True, Pominville was starting to look like a ghost town there for awhile, but things are looking up. With hard work, and a little hustle, Pominville should be bursting with citizens in no time.

    It’s also worth noting that although his stats may seem a bit anemic, Jason Pominville is currently tied for first on the team for points.

  6. 6 Heather B. November 30, 2007 at 11:25 am

    I think it’s worth pointing out that Pominville is also more of a defensive, shut-down type of city this year than it has been in pasts. Goals are nice, but the lack of them doesn’t mean Pominville isn’t still scenic, thriving, and nice to visit.

  7. 7 Gambler November 30, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Goals are nice, but the lack of them doesn’t mean Pominville isn’t still scenic, thriving, and nice to visit.

    Don’t kid yourself, Heather, Pominville is a fortress now. And fortresses are killing hockey!

  8. 8 Steph November 30, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    Wow….wow. I mean, I got the Pommerdoodle thing before, but those comparison pictures…wow. I want to take him home with me and give him a chew toy.


Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages