Soothing

In the aftermath of game six, I was mega-glum. I bet you were too. That game was a swift kick to the softest, fleshiest part of my sports soul. I walked into the arena with an open heart and a joyful spring in my step, and I limped out, wincing and clutching my chest.

That game was so rough that after it was over, Jessica and I opted to go home to our respective houses rather than even put one toe in the Harbor Club. This is unusual behavior, but neither of us had the heart to look on the bright side.  If I had to rank my friends in order of those most likely to say, “Eff it! Let’s drink and be merry! The disgusting Flyers will die miserable and alone, but they will NOT interrupt my gallivanting schedule,” Jessica would be right at the top of that list.  So, it’s a true testimony to our heavy hearts that we couldn’t even muster the strength for one postgame “Beer of Commiseration”.

On the sad walk back to our car, we joked that we were going to go home alone and “angry eat” something extremely unhealthy.

Half an hour later we exchanged these photos via text.

Kate

Jessica

Don’t act like you’re not impressed.

_______

Today is a new day.

Today, my hockey train-of-thought (and really, is there any other train-of-thought during the playoffs?) has been a series of pleasant realizations:

– At no point yesterday was I angry with the Sabres. (Okay, maaaybe I was a little angry with Brad Boyes for a few minutes.)

– Ryan Miller has been downright heroic this series. I don’t think it’s even debatable. There are people who are going to point at him and blame him for the lost leads in game 5 and 6, but those people are stupid. Also not debatable. If you took Ryan Miller and put him on the Flyers, this series might have been a sweep. Crunchy has almost single-handedly made this a series.

– The following Flyers can fall down a well for all I care: Mike Richards, Daniel Briere, Scott Hartnell, Dan Carcillo.  This isn’t so much a “pleasant realization,” as it is a helpful focal point for my feelings of disgust and rage. If they fell down a well, I would probably stop by and toss them food and drink so they wouldn’t starve to death, but I wouldn’t help them escape, and I’d be 100% willing to taunt them by repeatedly asking about their recent divorces.

– Hey, at least we’re not rooting for the Canucks.

– Yesterday afternoon the Sabres were down Roy, Hecht, Pominville, Sekera, and for half the game Tim Connolly, and they made a great game of it. That means the Sabres played the second half of that game with Gaustad, Niedermayer, and McCormick as their top three centers.  The Flyers played with Richards, Briere and someone-else-who-I’m-too-lazy-to-look-up as their top centers. To call this series a mismatch at forward is an insult to people wearing plaid shirts and polka-dot pants everywhere. And yet, the Sabres are right there, taking this series to game seven.

– But. Roy-Z might be back on Tuesday! ROY-Z! Think all the way back to when Roy-Z first got injured, and we all thought the season was over, and he told us that he was hoping to be ready for the second round of the playoffs. Oh, how we laughed and laughed at Roy-Z back then. Roy-Z was right, and we were wrong. Hooray!  (Incidentally, Heather and I had a good chuckle the other day joking about how when he said it, Roy-Z probably didn’t believe the Sabres would make the playoffs either. Hopefully he hasn’t been sitting on his ass for four months eating bon-bons and assuming he wouldn’t have to play in the playoffs. Can’t you see Roy-Z all fat and lazy, playing video games, being all, “Wait… WHAT?  They actually MADE the playoffs?! And now you expect me to PLAY?! *looks down at flabby legs* Um, I might need a few days to find my skates.  Also, my stomach hurts. I don’t think I can play. And, um, I think my grandmother died and I have to go to her funeral. And I might be concussed.  Yeah!  I’m concussed! I should go to the quiet room, NOT play in the playoffs. FUCK! Is Pronger going to be there?!”)

– Fuck the Flyers.

– The Sabres were down and out, and then, through a series of minor miracles, beginning with Pegula and stretching down through every rank of the organization, they rose like a phoenix from the ashes. Every single playoff game is a gift.  And now?  Now we get a game seven. Bring it. For reals. If you could go back in time and offer a first round game seven to your December-self, your December-self would be so overjoyed he/she would probably try to make out with your current-self.  (FYI, that’s a variation on a joke of future and past selves that Jessica often tells. She’s a keeper.)

– This team has been a joy to watch, and I’m proud to root for them. Even if they lose on Tuesday 10-0, this season has been a success, and I love them. This sense of peace is something new for me as a fan. The Sabres have already earned my love. It’s a done deal. I hesitated to write about this because in some ways by saying, “I’m okay with them losing” it sounds like I expect them to lose.  But I swear, that’s not the case.

– If there is one thing I’ve learned from watching this Sabres team for the last four months, it’s that we shouldn’t count them out, ever. They might be mismatched, and they might be young, but they have more heart than the Philadelphia Flyers.  Time and time again, the Sabres have found a way to win. And as overpowered as the Sabres forwards are, there is really no overstating the shittiness of the Flyers goaltending. The Flyers are better than the Sabres, but they have a glorious vulnerability in net. The Sabres have given us no reason to doubt them. They deserve our respect.

– Sabres in 7.

Let’s Go Buffalo! WOO!

16 Responses to “Soothing”


  1. 1 Jonathan April 25, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    The fact is we are looking forward to the offseason. Its like, playoffs are great, its gravy. But I can’t wait till June and July.

    Because this team is not good enough. But lovable in their averageness.

  2. 2 Lindsey Ruff April 25, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Hey – as a Flyers fan, I’d first like to say that this was a great blog post. Well done. However, at the beginning of this series all I heard was how the Sabres were a better team and Sabres in 5 or 6 – all the hockey Melroses picked the Sabres. So now that the series has gone to 7 (you haven’t even lost it…yet) Everyone is saying the Sabres were undermanned and young and it’s ok blah blah blah. It is just confusing. In Philly, it is much more black and white, if we win we are great if we lose we suck. – and regardless we always have goalie
    issues. Also, the entire league just rolls it eyes everytime Lindsey starts his blather. That is all.

  3. 3 Katebits April 25, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    I don’t think there was ANYONE saying that the Sabres were better. The argument for picking the Sabres was that at the end of the season, the Sabres were on a roll and the Flyers were struggling. And as you said, we’ve still got a game to play here, so the hockey Melroses may be proved right.

    I’m not sure what to tell you about your confusion about the fact that Sabres fans don’t necessarily hate the Sabres even when they lose. It IS a nuanced point, and you ARE a Flyers fan, so it might just be one of those things that we’ll never see eye to eye on. ;)

    But regardless, thanks for stopping by and thanks for the props on my post, Lindsey! (Go Sabres)

  4. 4 Jessica April 25, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    My favorite part of the day (well, other than that we were together for that emotional wringer of a game) AND the post is that NO WORDS were exchanged after we parted ways. Just those pictures. No words needed.

  5. 5 Meg April 25, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    That food looks like perfect, delicious post-discouraging loss food.

  6. 6 Elizabeth Seabury April 25, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Well said, Kate! You and Jessica cheered and cheered. I am sure you were heard. I too love the Sabres. No matter how bad they play I never booed. They have given me many thrills over the years and I hope for even more!

  7. 7 Gambler April 25, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    I had already made my own peace with game six (which I may or may not get around to blogging about later), but reading your list of slightly different pleasant realizations put me in an even better place. This:

    and I’d be 100% willing to taunt them by repeatedly asking about their recent divorces.

    had me literally laughing out loud. Loud out loud. This is exactly the kind of barely hockey-related nonsense that will always keep me coming back for more, Kate. Bless you.

  8. 8 Row 26 guy April 25, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Well done Kate! I’m proud to be the fan sitting in front of two of the finest Sabres fans in the world!!

  9. 9 Patty April 25, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Nice post Kate! Beating the Flyers in Game 7 will be the Sabres first Game 7 road victory (if I am to believe the guys on the radio) which will be so fitting for the Pegula era! It could not happen any other way if you think about it. Go Sabres!!!

  10. 10 ang April 25, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    here is what i think.. we need this third 7 to tie it up.. Rick Martin wore 7, we were the 7th seed and we will take it in 7!!
    GO SABRES! (that pizza looks divine! Where is it from?)

  11. 11 kitten April 25, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Why were you sad? We get another day of hockey! Really good, stick slapping, head bashing (sorry Timmy) barn burnin hockey.

    Best of all the Sabres have put on a great show and forced a top seed team to come out and work for it every night. It’s down to one night and they way this series has played out it could be anybody’s game.

    To quote you “WOOOOO!”

  12. 12 H April 25, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I so wanted to rip this blog, as I cant stand crappy Buffalo or the Sabres or it’s fans. But I cant. Chicks that dig hockey…….hot. Ladies if you want to go to game 7, it’s on me. Don’t worry, you can wear your ugly blue jerseys, you wont be messed with. Philly would be honored to have such puckheads in attendance.

  13. 13 Katebits April 25, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Haha! We’re charming the opposition, one disgusting Flyers fan at a time! ;)

    Well, thanks for the offer, H. Let’s go Buff-a-lo.

  14. 14 Jessica April 26, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Kate,

    Blogging has finally paid off! We got invited to go to Game 7 with a Flyers fan! There are no words!

    THIS is my happy place.
    Jess

  15. 15 ToonTom April 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    You’re being too kind to the Trolladelphia Cryers fan.


  1. 1 My Happy Place: Busted « Running with Sabres Trackback on April 26, 2011 at 12:03 am

Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages