HurriLAMES

Tomorrow I am getting on a plane for a brief trip to the motherland (Minneapolis) so I will not be able to watch the Hurricane game……which is fine, because I’m not a fan of the Hurricanes. I dislike the scariness of the Senators, but I am a humorless, cranky bee-otch about the Hurricanes.

Hurricanes are assholes.

Although I didn’t watch a single regular season game last year, I did watch a lot of the 2006 playoffs. The very first hockey game I ever watched was against the Flyers (I think it was the Flyers). My friend Stefan drew a crude picture of the rink, explained the bluelines and icing, and I happily watched the entire game. It’s puzzling to me why that initial burst of hockey-loving didn’t stick. I was very caught up in the emotion of the city in the spring of 2006, but I wasn’t at all attached to the team or the players. I may have been just a passenger on the bandwagon back then, but I was there……at least a little. While it would be a full year before I started paying attention to the Sabres for good, I came by my dislike of the Hurricanes honestly.

Thankfully, things are different now. I could never hate a team as much as I love the Sabres.

11 Responses to “HurriLAMES”


  1. 1 Schnookie December 1, 2007 at 1:08 am

    That’s okay — Mikey C just metabolizes your hate as love. :P

  2. 2 Gambler December 1, 2007 at 1:38 am

    Dude, the Hurricanes are lame. As nice as it was to sweep the series against them last season, I find I’m never satisfied when it comes to seeing them suffer. Metabolize that, Mikey C.

    Awww, it’s so cute to see that old OFF post! Even though the interest in hockey didn’t stick, I can totally see the hockey fan Katebits to come shining through.

  3. 3 David Lee December 1, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    What are you? 10 years old?
    Hurricanes are assholes? HurriLAMES? Wow. Those are good. You got us there.

    This is a good rivalry our teams have, and with no disrepect to you, I think a lot of real fans respect that it is a heated rivalry without being childish about it. There are certainly more than a few Hurricanes bloggers who write thoughtless, lazy posts consisting of nothing more than “BuffaBLOW” or “Sabres suck”, and it’s embarrassing to see that.
    I don’t like it on either side.
    That said, in the interest of promoting bloggers of opposing teams, I’ll still link to your blog.
    Good luck.

  4. 4 Katebits December 1, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    David, David, David,

    Thank you for the link. I certainly didn’t mean to offend. A cursory look around here will show that I take very few things seriously, including the heated rivalry between our two team.

    I take great pride in being childish and I expect no less from the Hurricane fans.

    Sincerely,
    HRH, Katebits

  5. 5 Pookie December 1, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    David Lee, as an avid reader of The Willful Caboose and a blogger myself, I feel compelled to respond to your comment. I agree whole heartedly that as members of a corner of the blogosphere as vibrant as the one that’s developed around hockey we have a great opportunity to form a community that’s built on links and cross-promotion. However, before you leave comments on someone else’s blog calling them childish and an embarrassment to blogging, I suggest you familiarize yourself with the blog and blogger in question. TWC has, from the start, been presented as satire wrapped in fancy wrapped in sarcasm. This is made eminently clear in the tone and voice of each and every post. Katebits has, in the few short months since the Playoffs, become a respected and valued member of the hockey blogosphere by contributing to the conversations on a number of influential blogs. I recognize your knee-jerk response to an enemy post in a heated rivalry, but next time, do your research.

  6. 6 Meg December 1, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    Ooh, Kate, you instigator, you.

    I was happy with the sweep of the Canes last year and all and happy when they missed the playoffs. They’re definitely a team I dislike. And yet it’s a rivalry I tend to forget about entirely. Well, hopefully this game will go better than the last against them.

  7. 7 Sam December 1, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Um, there’s a heated rivalry between Buffalo and Carolina? Um, kay.

    Sincerely,

    The Rest of the Hockey World

    P.S. You will be calling me while you’re in Minny, right?

  8. 8 Pookie December 1, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Sam, you win “The Comment That Made Pookie Laugh the Hardest This Year Award”!

  9. 9 Schnookie December 1, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Sam, HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! High five!

  10. 10 Katebits December 1, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Please give our heated rivalry the grave respect it deserves.

  11. 11 David Lee December 2, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Your boys did a very nice job, and my boys… well, not so much.
    Maybe the asswhipping will be just what the doctor ordered to fix the Canes.


Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages