More SabreCasts!

Heather and I have two more SabreCasts for your listening pleasure. We recorded two in one sitting on Tuesday night. They are mirror images of each other, with one key difference: The first is titled “It’s All Bad” and the second is titled “It’s All Good.” We’ve long been talking about doing an “all positive” SabreCast, but on the eve of the playoffs (when we recorded these) it was pretty hard to ignore the whole, oopsies-we-missed-the-playoffs issue. We decided to record two podcasts covering the same material, first cranky, and then optimistic. It’s interesting how we were able to switch easily from disgusted to hopeful on the same topic. It seems the line between love and hate is very thin indeed when it comes to the Sabres.  Even though we took conflicting tones with identical subject matter, I think both podcasts reflect how I honestly feel.

SabreCast Episode 3: It’s All Bad

We really went to town on Soupy in this one. When I was editing this I had to laugh at how ferociously Heather and I have turned against Brian Campbell. I certainly can’t speak for her, but a lot of my Soupy-hate is probably just general Sabres-frustration…..but we’re stuck with the guys we still have, so it’s no fun hating them. Heh. Plus, in addition to Soupy being the scapegoat for all of my frustration, he’s also very genuinely ANNOYING. (Soupy so effectively proved our point in game one of the Sharks/Flames series that Heather and I are almost feeling guilty about bagging on him so harshly. Almost.) This podcast is pretty cranky. Listen to this one when you are feeling comically peeved.

SabreCast Episode 4: It’s All Good

This podcast is upbeat. Despite the crappy season, there is plenty of reason to hope. We refer a couple times to Crunchy’s locker clean-out day interview which we both agree was highly fabulous in a “this blows” kind of way. If you want to be filled with love for Crunchy, it’s a must see. Listen to this podcast if you are feeling hopeful.

20 Responses to “More SabreCasts!”


  1. 1 Heather B. April 9, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    I certainly can’t speak for her, but a lot of my Soupy-hate is probably just general Sabres-frustration…

    For the record, while I did briefly feel bad for Brian Campbell tonight, I got over it quickly. He still makes me grouchy and I’m still glad he’s gone. While I was particularly upset during the podcast, it was all directed at him.

  2. 2 Katebits April 10, 2008 at 12:08 am

    You know, I wrote this post at the peak of my Soupy sympathy, and it has already completely faded away. And for the record, I never ONCE, not even for a tiny second, stopped being glad he’s gone.

  3. 3 Meg April 10, 2008 at 12:18 am

    I’m so glad you ladies put the happy one second to cheer things up after that depressing first one. Fabulously entertaining as always. :D

  4. 4 Meg April 10, 2008 at 12:20 am

    Oh, and also I didn’t feel the least bit sorry for Soupy today. In part because I don’t like him but also in part because if someone is going to make you look stupid it might as well be someone as awesome as Iginla.

  5. 5 Katebits April 10, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Aw, Thanks Meg! Did you watch any playoffs tonight? Did you see Soupy’s disasterous game? :D

  6. 6 Katebits April 10, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Oops! I didn’t hit “refresh” fast enough. I see you DID see Soupy’s game. I’m glad you stayed strong. Now I’m regretting my temporary regret.

  7. 7 Mags April 10, 2008 at 1:21 am

    Y’all have exponentially improved my shitty post-loss day. Thank you :)

  8. 8 Shari April 10, 2008 at 7:08 am

    Yep, that was pretty cranky.

  9. 9 jonhoepfinger April 10, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Great podcast ladies. And thought of a new title of the Ryan Miller minute, you in case its shorter then a minute or you need a good 5 minute rant about Miller

    Crunch Time.

    And Bryan Murray gets the Derek Roy Whine of the Week about Pittsburgh tanking the Philly game to play them. Of course, who wouldn’t want to play the Sens right now.

  10. 10 Shari April 10, 2008 at 7:52 am

    Were you two PMSing? Cause that’s definelty two diffrent views! I love, love,LOVE that you remembered Hanks shootout goal! Alot of people are really down on certain players and forget the good things they did.
    As much as I want to hate Darcy, I can’t. I agree with Heather. His hands are tied with alot of things and I feel he’s an evil little genious and knows excactly what he’s doing. It’s to easy for people to blame him. It’s the other two clowns I blame for this whole season!
    Ryan Miller in a bubble bath? Is he wearing warpaint with someones heart in his hands jerking his head from side to side? The Ryan Miller minute is the best.
    Listen, I know you two are really down on Max and Kotalik but I’m still rooting for both of them. They just need a huge boot right in the ass! Spoiled is what they are! I’d like to slap both of them right in the head. To much waisted talent there.
    Your podcasts were a great idea and next year will be a blast!
    Peace out.

  11. 11 Erin April 10, 2008 at 8:39 am

    Love the SabreCast. Very fun.
    It was kind of nice to remember the good times. I like to think about that blow out against Atlanta. Wasn’t it like 10 to 2 or 10 to 1? (I should research that but, meh) Good times!
    I thought I had prepared myself for the Sabres to be gone, but I must say that I’m having severe withdrawl symtoms.
    Wathching the games last night, while entertainig, just weren’t satisfying.
    I MISS THE SABRES!!!!!

  12. 12 danielleia April 10, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    … I like the Sharks a lot (non-Soupy reasons) so… got nothing on that one.

    I remember one time Ryan Miller player the cat game (Super Troopers) with the media and they were so confused. hahahaha.

    Vanek had the second most goals scored after the all-star game only behind A.O. Alex had 26 goals and Vanek had 24… I think thats how many. But it was close I know.

  13. 13 Shari April 10, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Danielleia, love your blog!

  14. 14 Mike in Idaho April 10, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Glad you all enjoyed Campbell’s performance last night like we did at my house, my wife was cackling with glee after some of his turnovers, she says she has had it with Campbell sabotaging teams she likes but of course is used to it after the Buffalo season. On a positive note, if Campbell succeeds in derailing the Sharks into a first round loss, then Buffalo’s first round draft pick this summer will be all the higher. I also hope you all missed the Devils/Rangers game, it went even worse than I would have thought.

  15. 15 Chaz April 10, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Help! I just watched Crunchy’s locker room clean out and found him cute. How can that be? Oh wait, it was b/c I could only see half of his face, which is symmetrical unless you know that it’s really not.

    BTW – Sabrecast=H.Y.S.T.E.R.I.C.A.L.

  16. 16 Mary April 10, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Kate! I have to tell you, over on Livejournal, in the Buffalo Sabres community, you are now famous!!

    http://community.livejournal.com/buffalosabres/522021.html?view=4210469#t4210469

    :)

  17. 17 Shari April 11, 2008 at 7:32 am

    I’ll design the T-shirts!

  18. 18 Katebits April 11, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Awwww, thanks Mary! Hmm. How can I best abuse my my fame and influence?…..:P


  1. 1 SabreCast #5: Now With More Crickets! « The Willful Caboose Trackback on August 23, 2008 at 2:58 pm
  2. 2 In Defense of Number 51 Trackback on March 8, 2009 at 4:02 pm

Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages