Ew, Flyers!

I have a confession to make: I lived in Philadelphia for four happy years. Yes, it’s true. I know and love many Philadelphians, and I think Philly is a wonderful city. I have, in the past, cheered for the Eagles, and if I were to choose a National League baseball team to cheer for, I might choose the Phillies. While I lived in Philly, I cared not one whit about the Sixers or the Flyers. (I do remember, in 1999 or so, my friend John telling me in no uncertain terms that the NJ Devils were the most hateful team in all of sports. Heh.)

Since becoming a Sabres fan, I’ve had an odd fascination with the Flyers. I kind of have to assume that had I been living in Philly when I discovered hockey, I might be a Flyers fan right now. I know! It’s mind boggling! Can you imagine if this were a Flyers blog and I was writing scenes starring Joffrey Lupul and Mike Knuble? *shudder* I have even, on occasion, wondered if I have an inner Flyers fan lurking within. I don’t feel like a Flyers fan, but that was a close call, you know? (In all seriousness, I don’t think I would’ve ever gotten into hockey if it weren’t for the energy of a hockey-crazed Buffalo, so my hypothetical Flyers fandom is pretty far-fetched.)

I’ve made a conscious decision not to adopt every grudge and hatred of the lifelong Sabres fan. I’ve found plenty of stuff to fuel my rage without taking into account things that occurred a decade before I watched my first hockey game. Because of this, I’ve generally ignored the constant insistence that the Flyers are our most hated rivals. I’m sure in time I will find my own reasons to hate the Flyers, but until then, they are just another team chock full of ex-Sabres that Bucky Gleason won’t shut up about. Furthermore, I absolutely refuse to hate the Flyers based on the claim that all of their fans are mouth breathing hooligans. Some of my best friends are Flyers fans. What?! I’m serious!

BUT

That orange. All those people in the stands wearing those icky orange t-shirts….blech. And Steve Downie is not right in the head. And “Vengeance Now“? I’m sorry, but that’s an ABSURD motto for such a frequently suspended team. The Flyers aren’t exactly winning me over, that’s for sure.

Let’s just say, I’m really glad I moved to Buffalo before I became a fan of hockey, and leave it at that. :D

GO PENS!

12 Responses to “Ew, Flyers!”


  1. 1 KevinP May 14, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Kate – This might help.

    After all, you do sponsor the mans hockey-reference page.

  2. 2 jonhoepfinger May 14, 2008 at 8:58 am

    My hate stems not from the Finals in 75 (wasn’t born) but the Eric Lindros, Legion of Doom years. Seeing him being laid out by Scott Stevens is still fantastic. God I hated LeClair, Lindros and all their other goons.

    Philadelphia is nice, if it weren’t for the philadelphians.

  3. 3 Jennfer May 14, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Has anyone else noticed that Sid’s facial hair is starting to actually show up a little. He may have something resembling a beard by the time the playoffs are over. MAYBE!!!

  4. 4 Schnookie May 14, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Flyers orange is one of the most noxious colors in the entire rainbow. In fact, I kind of hope the rest of the rainbow will someday get its act together and kick Flyers orange out. Surely that color causes seizures, right? At the very least, circumstantial evidence suggests it causes concussions in its wearers.

    And as much as this current Flyers playoff team has gone and dolled itself up in its Vegas tranny wedding best for me, I have to agree that “Vengeance Now” is the most ridiculously stupid motto ever. What are they avenging? Being last in the league last year? So does that mean the team is going to go on a murderous rampage up into Bobby Clarke’s luxury box? What the hell? Really, that organization makes no sense to me.

  5. 5 Katebits May 14, 2008 at 11:28 am

    So does that mean the team is going to go on a murderous rampage up into Bobby Clarke’s luxury box?

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::: Seriously! WHAT ARE THEY AVENGING?

    Kevin, that clip is an OUTRAGE. (But I LOVE Lindy’s little charge up towards the stands. Ha!)

  6. 6 danielleia May 14, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    “That orange.”

    Be glad you don’t attend Buff State.

  7. 7 Katebits May 14, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    You know what’s really funny about me bitching about the Flyers orange? I have tickets to the Bandits championship game on Saturday, and before then I fully intend to go shopping so that I have something bright orange to wear to the game. Hee. It’s not offensive when we do it. :P

  8. 8 LizzieB May 14, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Kate, just between you and me, I went to college on the Main Line and was forced to watch Flyers hockey in the days before Center Ice. I put up with it because of my love of hockey, but then I had the bizarre experience of going on a date with a certain concussion-prone Flyer. That killed it for me.

  9. 9 Amy May 14, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    All those people in the stands wearing those icky orange t-shirts….blech.

    All that orange in the stands makes it look like the game is played at the ice rink at Sing-Sing.

    I’m sorry, but that’s an ABSURD motto for such a frequently suspended team.

    I read that the players have their own motto of “Why Not Us?” You know why not? Cause the Penguins said so, that’s why.

  10. 10 danielleia May 14, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    GASP! GASP! GASP! You got tickets?! Speaking of orange and purple. My school’s all about the purple. So I guess I’m allowed to make fun of orange and black being a school color. For some odd reason though, purple and orange look cool for the Bandits. They’re very intense colors, maybe it just fits the team.

  11. 11 CrotchetyOriginalSam May 15, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Okay, so, I’m assuming that this entire post is just a direct shot at me because I haven’t called you lately? (And by the way, you claimed to be a Phillies fan after that one game we went to together back in ’99 or so…)

    Oh, and not to get all huffy at the TWC Devils Nation or anything, since the Flyers have unquestionably always been a team built on physical play, but…

    …God I hated LeClair, Lindros and all their other goons…

    I’m sorry, what? LeClair a goon? John LeClair? Are you drunk? And while we’re at it, how can you decry the supposed goonery of Eric Lindros (who, while quite large and good at laying the occasional hit, was also made of highly breakable porcelain) while celebrating the vicious shoulder strikes of notorious cheap shot artist Scott Stevens? That’s like condemning Chris Simon while defending Todd Bertuzzi! Ridiculous…

  12. 12 Katebits May 15, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Hee! Sam, I didn’t write this as a direct shot at you, but I knew it would get a rise out of you.

    I still claim to be a Phillies fan from time to time. I claim a lot of things. :P


Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages