Badass Contributions

I love it when this blog writes itself. And by “writes itself” I mean, “you guys send me awesome stuff”.

We have two amazing reader contributions today:

1. John M contributed this amazing picture of The Steel Rivet in the comment thread from yesterday’s post.  I’m not sure if John M. did the photoshopping himself or if he found it somewhere else, but either way, he’s a hero.  UPDATE: This photoshop was created by “fly as hale” who works her magic over on the official Sabres forums. UPDATE II: Okay, I’m now totally confused about who did this photoshopping.  Here’s what we know for sure; Craig the Riveter was brought to my attention by John M, and flyashale is using it as her avatar over on the Sabres Forums.  After that, it’s anybody’s guess.  From now on I’m going to steal whatever I want from the internet and credit no one.  Heh.  REDONKULOUS UPDATE III: FOR THE LOVE OF LINDY RUFF!  Okay, according to Jael, who I have COMPLETE and utter faith in, the person who photoshopped this picture of Craig Rivet’s head onto Rosie the Riveter’s body is Tsujimoto who pedals his righteous wares over on the HF Forums.  I’m starting to wonder if photoshops don’t belong to everyone. I mean, Craig the Steel Riveter can’t be OWNED.  He’s a part of all of us.

riveter

Craig the Steel Riveter = effing awesome

2.  As you all know, yesterday was a historic day for America.  In what can only be characterized as a landslide, we the people of The Willful Caboose overwhelmingly voted that Lindy Ruff’s new nickname be “Colonel Mustard”.  The people have spoken, and the polls are now closed. (Actually, the polls are still open because I have no idea how to close them.  Keep voting if you are so moved.)  Our task as a blog is to move forward in the spirit of cooperation.  We must begin to heal the divides that were created over the course of the 24 hour campaign to give Lindy his new nickname. Colonel Mustard may not not be the name you voted for, but he is still the same coach he’s always been.

Here are the final results of your vote:

1

As you can see, it was a clear cut victory for “Colonel Mustard”.

And for our neighbors to the north, we have converted the vote tallies:

3

I don’t understand the metric system, but I assume Colonel Mustard won in Canada too.

The whole Colonel Mustard thing was started, promoted, and lovingly rendered in electoral maps by the fabulous Christina from Reigning Frog’s Blog. Although I tried very hard to keep politics away from our unsullied safe-hockey-space, there are certain times when the people’s voice must be heard.

Thank you to everyone who voted yesterday.



16 Responses to “Badass Contributions”


  1. 1 Phil November 5, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Yo, this is the same dude who sent you that awesome pic of Staffy about to dine on preseason Blue Jacket brains ^^

    I’m a member of the official Sabres forums, and member flyashale should be credited with creating the Craig the Riveter. It is also her avatar on the forums.

  2. 2 M.J. November 5, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I think we all as Americans can be proud of the Colonel Mustard vote, Katebits. Someday my children, and maybe my children’s children, will ask me about this historic day and I will speak of you and your patriotism and LINDY in wistful, reverant tones.

    Please tell me when you are ready to start polling re: the Tim Connolly Injury of the Month, because I am early voting.

  3. 3 Amy November 5, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Craig the Riveter might just surpass the photoshop of Paul Gaustad as Jennifer Aniston in Office Space as the most bizarre one I’ve seen on a Sabres blog.

    the Tim Connolly Injury of the Month, because I am early voting.

    The lines will be out the door and down the block for that one.

  4. 4 Katebits November 5, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    I’m a member of the official Sabres forums, and member flyashale should be credited with creating the Craig the Riveter.

    Oh thanks, Phil! I’m on it. I’m not entirely sure how to link to her. Does she have a member page I should link to?

  5. 5 SAM November 5, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    that just made my day. Thank you.

    and I VOTED for Lindy as Col Mustard. It’s just right.

  6. 6 ReigningFrog November 6, 2008 at 12:27 am

    On this day, I am especially proud to be a Sabres fan. I’ve shared the good news with Oprah, and she is overjoyed.

  7. 7 Phil November 6, 2008 at 12:54 am

    OK, so I’m not entirely right about who should be credited. Caroline’s (flyashale’s – and yes she is a frequent reader ^^) avatar is located at this URL:

  8. 8 Porky November 6, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Colonel Mustard in the locker room with a bag of pucks. Did I win?

  9. 9 toontom November 6, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Katebits: From someone who grew up with imperial and was switched to metric, here’s the simple formula. Add 32, times it by nine and then divide by five. You’re welcome.

  10. 10 Patty (in Dallas) November 6, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    It appears when you convert from metric, the center-ice circle equals Kansas.

    (Genius electoral maps!)

  11. 11 Valerie November 6, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    here’s the simple formula. Add 32, times it by nine and then divide by five. You’re welcome.

    That’s just for temperature ;-). There’s a whole other one for converting vote counts (but I wasn’t paying attention to that in class). But to make it official, the majority in Canada must also be a majorité (hope the accent makes it through everyone’s browsers).

  12. 12 Katebits November 6, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    AAAAHAHA! Darn it! I totally forgot that the vote also need to be translated. :D

    Colonel Mustard in the locker room with a bag of pucks. Did I win?

    Hmm, let me open this tiny little envelope and see who dunnit….. :P

  13. 13 Porky November 6, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Tim Connolly is totally Mr. Body.

  14. 14 Jaime November 6, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Tim Connolly is Mr. Broken Body.

  15. 15 Jael November 6, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    The credit for the photoshopping completely 100% goes to Tsujimoto at HFboards.com. He posted that months ago, when we first traded for Rivet. Yeah, I lurk there. He is FANTASTIC at Photoshop.

    I am so proud of my country right now. Colonel Mustard is fabulous.

  16. 16 Shari November 6, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    As long as Colonel Mustard doesn’t start using his aids credit cards to buy a new wardrobe. And I’m hoping when he gets a new puppy, it’ll be a REAL dog!


Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages