Tickets! Tickets! Step Right Up and Get Your Tickets!

WOOOOOOOOOO! Look what I picked up today! The season tickets are gigantic this year, and they’re not bound in a book. The tickets come in a tidy stack, all tied up with a Sabres sash. I like these tickets better than last years tickets because they feature a prominent picture instead of being 95% covered in gobbledygook (“gobbledygook” being, “words”).

Here, this life-size Spiderman displays the enormousness of the new Sabres tickets. Aren't they swell? And huge? Also interesting: That's Brad Boyes' face on a ticket for a game that won't occur until late February 2012. That's a mighty bold prediction, Sabres graphic artists!

Speaking of tickets…

This year, as part as the season ticket package, season ticket holders had to buy both preseason games. If I remember correctly, in past seasons the Sabres gave us one game for free, and we had the option to buy the other game.

I usually enjoy the preseason games, mostly because it’s my first chance to head down to the arena, watch some hockey, and drink a big beer. It’s a nice way to ring in the new season, but it’s not exactly great hockey. I’m really looking forward to attending one preseason game, but two in one week feels like overkill. I’m guessing a lot of season ticket holders feel the same way, which is why I anticipate a lot of preseason tickets going to waste this year.

I hope every season ticket holder takes the time to make sure their tickets find a good home. You know who probably doesn’t care at all about the differences between preseason hockey and regular season hockey? Little kids.

So, consider this an official call to action. Season ticket holders, if you’re not going to use your preseason tickets GIVE THEM AWAY! Find someone who will use them. It’s really not that hard. In my experience, if you say to someone, “Hey, do you want these free Sabres tickets?” they will usually say, “Why yes. Yes, I do.” If you can’t find anyone to take your tickets, you can donate them through the Sabres website, OR, you can give them to me, and I will give them to a lucky reader.

_____

The Preseason Ticket giveaway, and how it shall work.

I have two tickets to the Sabres vs. Leafs game on Saturday, Sept 24th that I don’t plan to use. If I scrounge up any extra tickets from other STHs, I’ll also give those away.

Here’s how you enter the contest:

Leave a comment on this post that says, “Please enter me to win the tickets.”

In a week or so, I’ll draw a name out of a hat, and someone will win the tickets.

FINE PRINT: If you want to make me happy (but not increase your chances of winning in the slightest), please feel free to also tell me how pretty and/or charming I am in the comment of this post. Money and gifts will also be accepted, but (regrettably) will not increase your chances of winning the tickets. Failure to find me pretty and/or charming will be highly frowned upon, but will carry no penalties regarding this contest. If you are a Leafs fan, you are eligible to win the tickets, but only if you wear a Sabres jersey, cheer for the Sabres, and conceal your disgusting Leaf-y tendencies in every single way. Failure to comply with the rules contained in this fine print is punishable by death. That’s right. Death.

31 Responses to “Tickets! Tickets! Step Right Up and Get Your Tickets!”


  1. 1 Erica September 12, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Please enter me to win the tickets!

  2. 3 Emily September 12, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Please enter me to win the tickets!!

  3. 4 Donna September 12, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Please enter me to win the tickets! =)

    -@dernalee

  4. 5 Christopher Bates September 12, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Please count me in for the ticket contest. I have a 7yo who doesn’t believe in Pegula anymore!

  5. 6 Meghan September 12, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Please enter me to win the (ginormous) tickets. :)

  6. 7 Meg September 12, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    a pair of preseason sabres tickets would be almost as wonderful as reading twc. enter me, please!

  7. 8 extraattacker September 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Please enter me to win the tickets.

  8. 9 Phil Miller (@philmiller) September 13, 2011 at 6:46 am

    Please enter my 5 year old daughter and her even more awesome dad to win the tickets!

    Either way, the idea to encourage folks to give their tickets to kids is awesome. It’s a great way to introduce them to the game and not feel guilty for having to leave early if necessary. I speak from experience :)

  9. 10 sara September 13, 2011 at 7:19 am

    Please enter me to win tickets. your so nice.

  10. 11 trevor September 13, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Wow, I *thought* that was a life-size version of spider-man. And I should know because my son has about seven of them around the house.

    Not to get too serious (yet), but I’d love to hear your thoughts about whether we’re going to make that trade for a first/second line center before the season starts.

    I can’t believe we made all the moves we did so far to come up short in really having a chance this year. If I have to watch the Boyes/Hecht “center swap” all year I will literally punish myself by death. Death.

  11. 12 Gabby September 13, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Please enter me to win the tickets. Vous etes adorable, btw!

  12. 13 donald September 13, 2011 at 10:25 am

    If spiderman is lifesize, can you tell me how to get a Ravel viola-part FatHead?

    I don’t need your tickets. I had a PARADE.

  13. 14 Joanne September 13, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Please enter me to win the tickets you gorgeous person !!

  14. 15 Philip K September 13, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Please enter me in this contest for larger-than-Spiderman tickets to the Leafs preseason game.

  15. 16 Eryn September 13, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Please enter me to win the tickets! (it’s my birthday weekend if that helps…which i know it so doesn’t!)

    I also love the idea to give away tickets to kids. I am no longer a small child but am perfectly wonderful at acting like one! So thanks for the giveaway and the blog posts :)

  16. 17 Meghan September 13, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Please enter me to win those tickets! :) (Oh and you are just B-E-A-U-TIFUL :)

    Not that this has anything to do with winning, but one of my students is a :: shudder:: Leafs fan. He will be at that game. It would be wonderful to stalk him in the arena and tease him mercilessly about the Leafs losing. That’s how great of a teacher I am! :)

  17. 18 Dave Lanthier September 13, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Please enter me to win the tickets.

  18. 19 Mary (@boundforny) September 13, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Please enter me to win the gobbledygook-free tickets!

  19. 20 Erin September 14, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Please enter me to win the tickets, you beautiful, intelligent funny person!

  20. 21 mcguffers September 14, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Kate, this is an extremely awesome idea and I think it’s great that you’re doing this rather than jack up the price and take advantage of someone on StubHub. On my humanitarian meter, you’re up there between Paul Gaustad and Animal Cops.

    (I already have tickets so I’m not just sucking up :D )

  21. 22 Matt September 14, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Please enter my god-daughters for the tix. Or me… either way works.

  22. 23 lucas September 14, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    “Please enter me to win the tickets,” begs 3 year old Lucas. He adds, “Kate, I remember you from the game we went to in those fun seats at the table. My mom and dad bought me a Millsy doll but I broke his goalie stick. My dad tried to fix it with the super glue but I broke it again. We went to your house and it was so much fun. You had a bunch of instruments. I think you’re really cool.”

  23. 24 Kitten September 14, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    No tickets for me, but my goodness, lots of people “did not read the directions” and failed miserably to refer to your stunning aspect or vivacious demeanor. This lack of perception and/or diplomacy should not be rewarded with tickets. Just sayin’

  24. 25 Patty (in Dallas) September 14, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    If I were in Buffalo, I’d love to have one of those tickets, if for no other reason than because the pictures are so cool. I love it when they use bold photography and graphics instead of just cold information.

  25. 26 Erin September 15, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Is it too late for me? Please enter me to win tickets! Yay! Also…Kate is Great!

  26. 27 Valerie September 15, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Please enter me to win the tickets! You’re awesome :)

  27. 28 Kevin Steinmetz September 16, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Please enter me to win the tickets.
    :D

  28. 29 TheTickSP September 16, 2011 at 5:46 am

    Please enter me to win tickets!


  1. 1 hailee Trackback on October 24, 2020 at 12:37 am
  2. 2 brandise Trackback on February 24, 2021 at 6:19 pm

Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages